August 27, 2015

August 27, 2015

Fact Finding Team Leaves for Tikapur Incident Monitoring


A team led by INSEC has left for Tikapur on August 27 to collect the facts of the violent incident that occurred on August 24. The team comprises of INSEC Mid Regional Coordinator Krishna Gautam, INSEC Far-Western Regional Coordinator Khadak Raj Joshi, INSEC Central Office’s Bimal Chandra Sharma, INSEC Kailali district representative Sumitra Bhattarai, CWIN’s Madhav Lohani, Scopp Nepal’s Avay Raj Joshi, Tharu Civil Society chairperson Dil Bahadur Chaudhary, Cahurastra’s Surya Bhandari, Human Rights Council’s Dipendra Singh and Tej Tarami Magar and Tikapur’s local human rights activist Phirulal Chaudhary.

The fact finding team will monitor the site, meet the victims’ families, locals and witnesses, local security agencies, injured and civil society members of Tikapur and agitating groups. The report will be made public in Kathmandu.


Bijay Raj Gautam

Executive Director