Police Arrests Four Individuals Campaigning for the Boycott of Election

  April 21, 2023 By: INSEC

The police arrested four people, for organizing a boycott campaign of the by-election to be held in Tanahun. They were arrested on April 20, 2023, during an anti-election campaign at Asan Chowk, Damauli.

According to Netra Ranabhat, member of Gandaki Provincial Secretariat of CPN Revolutionary Maoist, the individuals arrested were, CPN Masal’s Central Spokesperson Ram Bahadur Budhamgar, of Pyuthan District, CPN Masal’s Gandaki Province Spokesperson, Pushpalal Shrestha of Byas Municipality-3, CPN Masal’s Tanahun District Spokesperson,  Dhan Bahadur Pariyar of Byas Municipality-13, CPN Masal’s Tanahun District Secretary,  Nar Bahadur Thapa of Myagde Rural Municipality-5 and CPN Masal cadre,  Rajkumar Shris Magar, of Chitwan Madi.

CPN Masal, CPN Majority, CPN Revolutionary Maoist, and Patriotic Republican Forum organized a hunger strike with the message of the boycott of the by-elections on April 23.

DSP Mohan Bahadur Khan, District Police Office, informed that the arrested individuals are detained at the District Police Office.

Ranabhat, a member of the Gandaki Provincial Secretariat of the CPN Revolutionary Maoist, said that the four communist parties will continue promoting the election boycott campaign.


Prakash Chandra Bhattrai