Mahottari District Court Sentences Seven to Life Imprisonment in ASI Thaman BK Case

  December 15, 2023 By: INSEC

The Mahottari District Court delivered a verdict acquitting Lakshmi Mahato and Pawan Kapar in connection with the unfortunate killing of Armed Police Officer ASI Thaman BK on December 14. Simultaneously, the court sentenced seven individuals to life imprisonment for their involvement in the aforementioned crime.

Under the direction of District Judge Udhav Prasad Bhattarai, the acquitted individuals, comprising Pradip Sah Majhi, Sanjay Kumar Sah, Mohan Thakur, Ram Shankar Mishra alias Shankar Shahi, former mayor of Jaleshwar Municipality, State MP Abhiram Sharma, Loktantrik Samajwadi Party leader Suresh Pandey, and Dharmendra Rai, were released from custody in relation to the aforementioned case. Moreover, Lakshmi Mahato Koiri, previously suspended as a Member of Parliament due to her association with the incident, and Pawan Kapar, currently in pre-trial custody, were both acquitted by the court.

The district court also ruled to levy an additional six-month prison term and impose a compensation of Rs. 1,000,000 on the seven individuals previously sentenced to life imprisonment in a separate case pertaining to the arson of an ambulance. Registrar Nutan Sharma specified that the compensation is directed to be remitted to the Nepal government.

Furthermore, in the same legal proceedings, the court adjourned the case involving individuals Ramesh Prasad Sah, Sabindra Chaudhary, Chandeshwar Shah Mohattari, Raja Chaudhary, Devendra Chaudhary, Naresh Shah, Ram Raja Shah, Golu Shah, Hariom Kumar Bhagat, Rabindra Ram Chamar, Ranjit Shah, Bicky Shah, Phule Yadav, Rohit Kumar Sharma, Lalbabu Bin, Shambhu Shah, Anil Thakur, Devendra Yadav, and Kaushal Kumar Yadav.

Mamata Bishwakarma