Local Level Election- 2079: Complaint Filed against Candidate in Ilam, Violation of code of conduct in Jhapa

  April 28, 2022 By: INSEC

Complaints have been filed in the office of the Election Officer against the candidates for the local level election 2079.

Complaints have been lodged in the office of the Election Officer against some of the candidates who had registered their nominations on April 24 and 25 for the election scheduled for May 13, 2022.

According to Ilam representative Babita Mainali, a complain has been filed against Narendra Kumar Subba (Nepali Congress), a candidate for the post of ward chairperson of Phakphokathum rural municipality-5. Siddhaman Ale (CPN UML), a candidate for the post of ward chairperson, has lodged a complaint alleging laundering of NPR 130,000.

According to the District Represent of Jhapa, Naresh Khati, candidates who have registered for the local elections in the district have violated the code of conduct issued by the Election Commission.

It has been found that the code of conduct issued by the Election Commission has been violated in Jhapa by exercising the right given by Article 22 of the Election Commission Act, 2073 BS.

In Arjundhara Municipality-9, Nepali Congress candidate has campaigned against the election code of conduct. Bhishma Mishra, a candidate for the post of ward chairman of Arjundhara Municipality-9, has been found violating the code of conduct by using flags against the norms in a door-to-door program.

A group of CPN-UML cadres representing Rahul Kumar Sharma of Birtamod Municipality-4 had used a banner against the protocol in a door-to-door program.

Article 12 (e) of the Election Code of Conduct 2073 states that the party’s digital board, flex, glucine board, audio-visual materials and audio-visual materials should not be displayed in the candidate’s office except for the 3 × 3 feet flag and election symbol of the same size.


According to Sankhuwasabha representative Bhawin Karki, three women ward members have been elected unopposed in two local levels of the district under the local level election to be held on May 13. Two members of Bhotkhola Municipality-1 and 4 and one member of Makalu Municipality have been elected unopposed. District Election Officer Jay Prakash Basnet informed that they were elected unopposed as there were only two candidates for Dalit women members and one candidate for women members. There are two candidates from CPN-UML and one candidate from Nepali Congress.

According to the District Election Office, Ambika Bishwakarma, a Dalit woman member of Bhotkhola rural municipality-1 from CPN-UML and Chimpa Bhote of UML in Ward-4 and Sabina Jairu, a Dalit woman member of Nepali Congress in Makalu rural municipality -2 are from the CPN-UML.

Their unopposed declaration will be in accordance with the local level election law, according to the Office of the Chief Election Office. Husband and wife have been nominated for the post of mayor and deputy mayor of Khandbari municipality respectively. The mayor and deputy mayor of Khandbari municipality are in the running for the local level election.

The Janata Samajwadi Party has registered the candidature of Sitaram Timsina for the post of mayor and Maiyadevi Chimariya for the post of deputy mayor of Khandbari municipality.

Mayor candidate Timsina is a central member of the Janata Samajwadi Party’s federal council. Sitaram Timsina said that after the party handed over the candidature, the couple nominated their candidature from the same party at the same local level. Nine people, including three independents, have registered their candidacies for the post of mayor of Khandbari Municipality.

INSEC Province 1 Office, Biratnagar