12 Injured in a Clash During the Vote Counting of Nepali Congress District Convention

  November 24, 2021 By: INSEC

In a clash between the cadres during the vote counting of the Nepali Congress District Convention on November 23, 12 were injured including three security personnel.

The scuffle took place at Swargadwari Multiple Campus of Pyuthan Municipality-7 during the vote counting of the two candidates for the position of District Chairperson. In the clash, District Deputy Chairperson of Tarun Party Krishna Basel, 28, from Swargadwari Municipality-6, Kamal Gharti Magar, 24, of Swargadwari Municipality -1, Kuber Pun, 26, of Naubahini Rural Municipality-6, Binod Rijal, 23, Shreedhar KC, 25, Bijay Rijal, 25, Ghanshyam KC, 25, Padam KC, 24, and Khemraj Pandit, 55, of Pyuthan Municipality-7 were injured.

Meanwhile, Sub Inspector Basanta Pandit, 38, policemen Chandra Bahadur Gahamagar, 23, and Gopal GC, 34, of Armed Police Force were also injured.

DSP Satyanarayan Thapa of the District Police Office said police had to fire 14 rounds of tear gas and two rounds in the air to control the clash.

Krishna Basel, Bijay Rijal, Chandra Bahadur Gahamagar are being treated at Bhairahawa Medical College and Basanta Pandit is undergoing treatment at Lumbini Provincial Hospital while others are being treated at District Hospital Bijuwar, said DSP Thapa.

Rabindra Pandey