Cancellation of Nomination of Three Candidates Including Ward Chairperson

  April 30, 2022 By: INSEC

According to the Election Office, the nomination of three candidates including the candidate of CPN-UML ward chairperson candidate of Nepalgunj Sub-Metropolitan-17 has been cancelled.

According to Nagendra Chaulagain, Assistant Election Officer of the Office of the Chief Election Officer, Nepalgunj, the candidacies of Ajay Kumar Pathak for the post of ward chairperson of Nepalgunj Sub-Metropolitan-17, Nirmala Devi Banshakar of ward no. 3, Sanju Banshakar of ward no. 7 for the post of Dalit member were cancelled.

In the election of 2017, Pathak won the ward chairpersonship from the same ward. He had left CPN Maoist Centre and joined UML before the nomination.

According to the Office of the Chief Election Officer, the candidature was cancelled as the bank had blacklisted Pathak.

Similarly, the candidatures of Nirmala and Sanju, candidates for the Dalit member posts in Ward No. 3 and 7, have been cancelled due to the non-existence of Dalit candidates, informed Chief Election Officer.

INSEC Lumbini Province