Among 120 Persons’ Withdrawn Cases, 91 Belonged to Mahottari

  May 13, 2021 By: INSEC

The government had recently withdrawn the cases of 120 people out of which, 91 belonged to Mahottari. These 91 people were charged with causing arson to government and private property during their protest.

On April 16, 2021, a meeting chaired by Mahottari’s Chief District Officer Tirtha Raj Bhattarai had recommended the names of 168 people whose cases were to be withdrawn. Most of them were accused of arson.

Twelve people, including Krishna Dev Sharma of Itaharwakatti-7 in Mahottari, were accused of arson and robbery.

According to the documentation of the District Public Prosecutor’s Office, a case of arson and robbery was filed against the 12 including Sharma on March 26, 2019.

The District Administration Office of Mahottari had also recommended the names of the Ministers, Members of Parliament and Mayors of the province for the case withdrawal.

A case is ongoing against Abhiram Sharma, Minister of Social Development of Province 2, in the charge of killing Thaman BK, Armed Police Constable during the Madhes movement.

The district administration Office had also recommended the government to withdraw the case against Minister Sharma, but his case has not been withdrawn.

It was also recommended to withdraw the case of Province MP Kaushal Yadav and Ram Shankar Mishra, Mayor of Jaleshwar who were also accused of being involved in the murder of constable BK.

It was recommended to withdraw the case of 28 people including him, but no case has been withdrawn yet.

Ajay Kumar Sah