Local Level Election Update

  May 14, 2017 By: INSEC


The voting for the first phase of Local Level Election has commenced in 10 districts under the province number 6 from 7 am in the morning.

Apart from one or two polling centre, in all other polling centre, the voting commenced on time according to district representatives.

During the voting process in Aaba polling station in Khaptad village council of Mugu district CPN UML and Nepali congress cadres had dispute over the issue of putting representative in the centre. The voting process started after 30 minutes according to election officer Raju Man Buda.

Police had fired two rounds of bullet in the air to control the situation.

The election process in Kasturi Boarding School in Bheriganga Municipality in Jajarkot district was halted for 20 minute due to the internal management.

In polling station of Sahare village council, senior citizens, person with disability and postpartum women find difficulties to vote easily.

In Dokra election centre of Bhairabi village council in Dailekh, the election process was delayed for 30 minutes over the dispute on son casting different vote in the name of mother. After that, the process commenced peacefully according to INSEC district representative Amar Sunar.

Apart from this, in Humla, Jumla, Salyan, Dolpa, Kalikot and Rukum district the voting commenced on time and peacefully. There was an overwhelming participation of voters according to the district representatives.


INSEC Regional Office, Nepalgunj